Deer or No Deer? Or, dear?

Tonight at 5:26pm, deer hunting came to end until next fall.  We have 5 different weekends from mid-November until mid-January.  Before first season I said, “This is going to be my year!”  And, it probably would have been if I didn’t have what my pesky, goodhearted,  brother-in-law calls “deer fever.”

My first mistake really is out of my control.  BUT I have and will continue to practice.  I stink…I mean really stink at estimating distances.  I thought my target was at approx. 170 yards.  Knowing that my firearm was shooting a little lower than where it was sited in, I took my shot a tad bit higher.   After it was over we took the range finder out and determined the target was actually closer to 150 which would have been right on had I not added that “tad bit.”  First lesson re-learned, always carry your range finder!!

On my next attempt things were really slow and there was nothing in sight.  I continued to check in between the bales but was keeping from standing up completely.  I had reached the point of peeing through my long-underwear, jeans and camo, insulated, Cabela’s bibs.  No, thanks.  I got up to leave the blind and there he was.  Right on the other side of the main bale.  Urgh!  He was spooked and jumped over the fence to the neighbors ground.  That gave me the motivation to stay.  Just 10 more min. I could do it!! I think I can, I think I can.  Well, I couldn’t and got up to leave.  As I began walking away I realized the buck had jumped the fence and laid down just on the other side. URGH!!

At my third opportunity was a romantic date night in the blind…romantic for us.  We had a babysitter and went hunting together.  I was trying not to put a damper on the mood but I was irritated with myself after prior attempts.  With that said, I had really gotten myself pumped up for this go around…maybe too much.  I wanted to get one so bad that I stirred up every ounce of anxiety in my body.  Although it was controlled as we patiently waited for supper to appear, my nerves went out of control when my prey came into sight.  My biggest fear was spooking the deer before I was able to get myself into a steady position.  Unfortunately, I was on the wrong side of the blind and it’s not easy maneuvering two people in a small space with two firearms.  I got over to the other side with my hubby instructing me to brace my body against the corn bale before I took the shot.  As any good wife would do, I didn’t listen.  The barrel was making circles and I missed all three shots. Ugh!  Hence, “deer fever”.

So my “deer fever” has continued over the last two months and sadly tonight was my last chance.  In order to get a deer, you have to see a deer.  And, I did not.

Squirrel and Turkey seasons are next! And, next fall is another season.  The best part is my dearest hubby has taken on a lot of the cooking and cleaning so that I can have time to hunt.

So even though I didn’t get a deer, I have a wonderful dear!

Leave a Reply

