Forget-me-not Flower Arranging at 4-H

So last night was Pickle’s monthly 4-H meeting and I left the evening yearning to be a young 4-H’er again.  Pickle choose his club because it was his daddy’s…which I think is pretty sweet.  The club meets in a nearby town, out of our school district, where my hubby grew up.  I lived there for 2 years but have lost touch with many friends.  We are both meeting new people and I’m re-connecting with old acquaintances.  Last night, while riding in the fanciest semi-tractor he’s even seen, he finally got to know his first two ‘friends.’   Yay!

The meeting was called to order, treasurer’s report, minutes, etc…then came the demonstrations.  The boys went first since they were headed out to see the semi.  The first little guy made electricity from a potato…way neat!  The next demonstration was the ice breaker to one of Pickle’s new friendships.  A demonstration about firearms.  I’ve never seen the boy so focused and attentive.  (At the last meeting his other new friend did a demonstration about trapping…a rapport was immediately built.)  Then the guys took off and the girls stayed behind to hear one more demonstration from a little gal who was making brownies.  My mind began wandering and reminiscing.  The club to which I belonged was all girls.  Lots of demonstrations on baking, quilting, sewing, knitting, arts and crafts, etc…  One of the best ever that I think about often as I bake, giggling as I go, was a how NOT to do a demonstration on baking cookies.

Two girls worked together…one demonstrating the proper way to bake – hair tied back, hands washed, ingredients prepared, recipe in hand, correct measuring utensils, etc…  The next demonstrator had dirty hands, hair dangling in the batter, chomping on some gum which was then accidentally dropped it in the batter.  The gum was picked up followed by digging a dirty finger into the batter for a taste test.  Yum-no!  The final scene had the audience rolling when she ‘borrowed’ (without asking) baking soda from the other gal.   As they fought over the box, it opened sending soda flying everywhere, some landing in the bowl, a puff in the air and an unrehearsed covering of the ‘not-so-proper’ baker’s face.  I was hilarious!  (If I don’t say so myself.)   We had a blast doing that demonstration!  I had a blast in 4-H and credit those years for the person I am today.

Now, back to reality…the brownie demonstration came to a close and it was announced that a local florist would be teaching the girls about flower arranging…my heart went pitter-patter.  I had forgotten how much I love to arrange flowers.  A little known fact you probably don’t know about me is that in college I took a semester course on flower arranging.  It came in very handy for our wedding.  I did the arrangements for the reception.  If only I could master growing the flowers.

I’m no green thumb…in fact, I’m more of your purple, black and pink thumb variety that’s been hit by a hammer.  I pretend to be a gardener who designs beautiful landscaping around my matching wrap around porch and home.  If you’ve talked to my neighbors, you’ll understand why I should just stick to arranging the flowers and not growing them.

So many choices of colors and textures.

After watching the florist make up a couple different arrangements, each girl made their own.  As I watched the girls go crazy over the flowers it made REALLY want to have a little girl.  It was so much fun to see them squealing with delight.  Unfortunately, the meeting did need to come to an end.  What better way to conclude the workshop with the throwing of a wedding bouquet!  What fun we had!  The girls left with smiles on their faces and an arrangement in their hands.

I left running for the truck so I could get home and look online for open floral assistant positions.  You, know, in my free time.

Oh, and the boys had a great time too.  :0)

One response

  1. This is so detailed!! Great post!

    January 24, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Leave a Reply

