Homework from PE?? This was a first.

How many of you have ever had your child arrive home with homework from their physical education class?  It was a first at The MagicFarmHouse.  I also didn’t know they gave out homework to Pre-K students but last year Willis did have homework on a regular basis.  At first I was stunned but I believe the intentions were well served.  It provided a solid foundation for continuing education in the home, away from school.

So when I picked Pickle up from school following Art Club, I was confused because he was carrying a new bag.  My first reaction was that he traded his beloved and expensive Cardinals Baseball bag with another child.  I was relieved to find that the new bag was related to his homework.

Here’s how it works.  Each week the PE teacher selects a student who will take home a bag of PE equipment and a camera.  I know, Right? A camera! For a rural school I was impressed but not too surprised knowing how much our PTO supports the school and how each of the teachers are wonderful! The assignment: Use the camera and a writing log to journal about using the equipment at home with your family.  Sort of like, PE but at home.

We didn’t do a lot with the jump ropes but the scoop thingies that you use to toss a ball from person to person were super fun!  My favorite though was the soccer ball.  Using the two trucks as one goal…I know, I know an insurance accident waiting to happen but I’m not responsible for choosing the goal posts…I just went with it.  And then the trees were used as our other goal.  It was Pickle & I (and sometimes Pudder) against daddy.  I played soccer for a couple of years as a child so I knew a few moves that through the opposing team for a loop.  In the end, the score was 6 to 4, with the Giant Oger bragging as the champion. :0(  That’s alright, we’ll get him next time!! Wait ’till it’s three boys against him…

Homeschooling Physical Education Assignment

Homeschooling Physical Education Assignment

It initiated some great family time and memories!! Now all of the pictures we took are being printed out and put on a poster in the gym for all to see.

Impressive concept!!  So that’s my cool idea for the day…share with your PE teacher and I guarantee it’ll get the kids off the couch and the Wii turned off.

Stay tuned by subscribing to my email list…the rest of the week will be a bit of a food theme…Dutch oven cooking recipes for chili and breakfast casserole.  Finally, a review of The Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls, with a little twist using a bread maker.  Hey, I’ve been busy alright?  It’s ok to take a short cut here and there.  And, close your mouth…saliva tends to be a little tricky to clean up off the keyboard.  Not that I would know or anything.

Happy Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

