The Skeeters & the Bedbugs

I keep saying this but here it is again…last week was one of the busiest weeks we’ve had this year.  We finished the renovation to the downstairs bedroom.  Pickle has ‘unofficially’ moved in and Willis has decided he’d rather stay & share a room with Pudder.  Until his 6 then he’ll move.  We hosted Pickle’s Cub Scout Pack cookout/campout, we attended the dedication of the garden Memorial built for my mom’s boyfriend who was killed on Christmas day and my sister-in-law, my new nephew and I attended a bridal shower.

For the most part I’ll be covering the Cub Scout Pack Cookout/Campout, so pay attention!!  At times it was pure craziness!  It was sooo much fun though!!  Overall I think everyone had a great time.  My personal favorite event was The Treasure Hunt Maze.  We had agreed to host the cookout back in March or April.  In anticipation for the event we allowed a portion of our ground to grow into mostly foxtail.  As it grew we mowed a maze into the grass.  I would sometimes get lost but always find my way home again.  Seriously.  To add an extra ‘bling, bling’ to the maze and to help our Wolf Den accomplish an achievement we added the treasure hunt element.  The scouts and their siblings were divided into groups of 3-4.

***We pause this program to add a SIDE NOTE:  One of the greatest part of our Pack is how family oriented we are as we organize things to include all of the siblings of each scout. Back to our regular programming….***

At the beginning of the maze there was a sign with a question & three answers.  Each answer took the group a different direction…if the the question was answered correctly they found the next sign.  At each sign they were also rewarded with a prize.  The last prize was really brilliant on my part. **Pat, pat** I purchased glow sticks & bracelets.  We knew where they were once night fell.  Of course, they spent most of the time in the maze.

My hubby roasting hotdogs...doesn't he look excited!!

We also did some pumpkin decorating, played a little flag football and of course, S’mores and campfire songs!!  I have LOTS of favorites in this post…I was a die-hard 4-H Camper growing up.  I even volunteered as a part-time counselor and later took a position as a lifeguard & full-time counselor.  My absolute FAVORITE song is ‘The Skitters & the Bedbugs.’  I was having some senior moments and could not remember all of the words.  I jumped on the wonderful Google search engine and found that there were many, many, many versions to the song.  I never did find the version I learned – but something fairly close.   This morning as he was getting ready, Pickle had found the version I printed out & edited.  So as he got dressed, ate his breakfast, put on his shoes, I listened to him singing the song.  All of a sudden I had an out of body experience & I remembered more of the version I was taught!!  I’m so excited!  So I’m going to share a mixed up version of it with you!  You should feel very, very special.

Tomorrow’s post will be about one of the skits several of the parents performed.  It was hilarious!  I might even include a couple more campfire songs…stay tuned!

Here is the song…enjoy!

I woke up Sunday morning and looked there upon the wall, the Skeeters & the bedbugs were playing a game of ball.

The score was 19-20, the skeeters were ahead, the bedbugs hit a homerun & knocked me out of bed!

Chorus:  Singing, eenie-meenie, minie, mynie moe, catch a bedbug, bedbug, by his toe & if he hollers, hollers, hollers, let him go, singing eany-meany, minie, moe!

***This is where I forget the next verse…something about “I see London, I see France, someone has lace on their ___________ I don’t think they say underpants but can’t remember.***  Here is the verse I found online…

I went downstairs to breakfast, I ordered ham & eggs, I ate so many eggs, the ham rolled down my legs!

Repeat chorus…

My mother was a German, my father was a spy & me the little taddle tail I told the FBI!!

Repeat chorus…

We didn’t feel the last verse was appropriate so we DID NOT use it but here it is…

I fell into the sewer, and that is where I’ll die, they didn’t call it murder they called it SEWER-CIDE!!

Happy camping!!  Wow, I think I’ve had too much coffee this mornin’!

P.S.  For those of you who are keeping track, there have not been any additional deer harvested. :0(   I did get a lottery either-sex shotgun tag!! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

