The 6 Seasons…through the eyes of a boy.

The weather has turned cool, the leaves are changing into beautiful colors, the combines are spinning their wheels and spiders are plentiful.  (Ugh!)  I realize the first official day of fall came & passed a couple of weeks ago but until today I just wasn’t ready or in the mood.  I LOVE the fall but it reminds me that winter comes next.

We took a drive up to my hubby’s grandma’s farm which is currently getting a face-lift.  As we drove I admired the new colors and a funny story from last year came to mind.  Willis & I were discussing the change of summer to fall.  I told him that there were four seasons and proceeded to list off  Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter.  Immediately *with a capital E! LOL!* he exclaimed “No, no, no, Mama!  You forgot deer season!!!”  It was another one of those moments when I thought my tongue really would fall off from biting it so hard.  I tried my best not to giggle and said that he was correct there is a deer season.  I couldn’t resist emailing his teacher and sharing the story.  Apparently, I had again forgotten another season.  The class had also been discussing the change in seasons and when they listed our four traditional seasons he insisted they were wrong and proceeded to correct the teacher by saying…

“No, no, no!! You forgot deer season & combine season!!”  So in our home we celebrate six seasons during the year! You can’t fault him for being wrong.  The eyes of a child sure can simplify life and put things in perspective.

Speaking of deer season…it started at sun-up on Friday morning.  At 7:15am, my brother harvested his first doe of this year’s ‘Deer season.’  He closed the day by harvesting a button buck.  I called him yesterday evening and just moments before he had two walk under his stand.  Don’t worry, I asked that he leave a few for the rest of us!

Have a great sunny, fun week!!

Leave a Reply

