Reality Strikes

For the benefit of my kids I try to keep track of the day and date.  Usually the day of the week more than the date.  The weekend is when Daddy is home so the days of the week are important.

Today reality hit like a lightening bolt.  This is the last week at home with my kids before school starts.  My mom called and asked if they could spend the night during the week before school starts.  I said “Sure!”  And, as any mom would, I brought out my calendar that I briefly look at once or twice a week (sorry FlyLady!)  That’s when it hit.  We leave for State Fair a week from tomorrow.  It’s our annual workcation at the Illinois State Fair where we show our beautiful Jerseys! The choices for a sleepover with Grandma were bleak but we’ve managed to set a date.

And, now I’m sitting here in shock, reviewing all of the goals I had set for our summer.  Where did the time go?  I wanted to paint the shed, finish painting the porch, paint the bathroom, sand and paint our welcome fence, sanding and re-staining a new/re-used dining room table, sew curtains for the kitchen, canning, taking the kids to the pool on a regular basis – I BOMBED on that one.

I managed to get the kids to swim lessons every morning for two weeks, we took a day trip to the St. Louis Zoo, Pickle went to Cub Scout camp & several weeks of baseball, Willis went to VBS.  But none of my other goals were accomplished.  I wonder why??  Oh, that’s right, I have three kids who are boys and Mount Washmore waiting at the steps of my mudroom.  That’s Life!

I need to plan something special for this week…off to look for ideas.

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

