A Magical Breakfast Dish

This is a recipe I tried from The Pioneer Woman’s Tasty Kitchen site.  It’s called Baked French Toast and is listed under the Breakfast section.   Between you and me, it’s really a dessert posing as breakfast… so heavenly and magically, I’m almost certain it’s a sin to eat this for breakfast.

I’ve made this dish two times; each a bit differently.  The first time I made ‘sides’ – an apple side, a blueberry side and a plain side and used a loaf of french bread as called for in the recipe.  The second time was yesterday morning and it was on a whim so I used hamburger buns rather than the french bread.  Since I was in a hurry I skipped on the fruit.  Although it was still delectable I missed the fruit.  In both cases I altered the recipe to make it a bit more healthy (see below).  Even so, oh my gosh!  Yummy, yummy!

Baked French Toast

Ingredients:

Part 1: The Meat of the Recipe

  • 1 Loaf Crusty Sourdough or French bread
  • 8 Whole Eggs
  • 2 cups Whole Milk (I used 2% to cut down on the calories)
  • 1/2 cups Heavy Whipping Cream (both times I skipped this entirely and added a bit more milk instead)
  • 3/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp. Vanilla

Part 2: The Topping

  • 1/2 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1/2 cups Firmly packed brown sugar (I didn’t pack my cup all the way full)
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) Cold butter, cut in pieces (I could not bring myself to use that much and only used 1/2 to 3/4 of a stick)

What to do…

Grease 9X13 inch baking pan with butter.  Tear bread into chunks (or cut into cubes) and evenly distribute in the pan.  Mix together eggs, milk, cream, sugar and vanilla.  Pour evenly over bread.  Cover tightly and store in the fridge several hours or overnight.

In a separate bowl, mix flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt.  Add nutmeg if desired. **  Add butter pieces and but into the dry mixture until mixture resembles fine pebbles.  Store in a Ziploc in the fridge – I saved a bag and used a covered bowl.

When you’re ready to bake the casserole, preheat over to 350 degrees.  Remove casserole from refrigerator and sprinkle crumb mixture over the top.  (If you’re using fruit, sprinkle on before the crumb mixture.) Bake 45 min. for a softer, more bread pudding texture.  Bake 1 hour or more for a firmer, crunchier texture.

Scoop out individual portions. Top with butter and drizzle with maple syrup.  (I didn’t bring out the butter and syrup…just to save on calories)

Enjoy with a nice cup of coffee on your front porch on a Sunday morning!

Leave a Reply

